Songs XVI

Songs XVI

You may be wondering why I am posting a few posts in quick succession…or not. But I will be in London for the next 2 weeks on a work placement with Penguin Random House! I’ll be doing Marketing and Publicity for Children’s Books. Therefore, I will be focusing on that rather than the blog, make sure to leave some of your blog post links for me to look at when I come back! πŸ™‚

The recent edition of Songs that I have been listening to recently includes: Catherine McGrath, The Shires, The Chainsmokers, Olly Murs, Espen Lind, Askil Holm, Alejandro Fuentes, Kurt Nilsen, Sam Hunt and Matchbox 20.

Catherine McGrath | Let Me Love You (DJ Snake ft. Justin Bieber cover)
One of my favourite artists from YouTube, Catherine has been doing covers for a while now and her talent has not gone unnoticed as she has recently been signed up by Warner Music. Her Let Me Love You cover is absolutely brilliant, and so is her most recent cover of OneRepublic’s Kids.

The Shires | Brave
The Shires have the title of the most successful country act that Britain has ever produced. This not only shows how deficient Britain is in the country genre in terms of acts, but it also shows how good The Shires are to make strides in this particular style of music. Their first album Brave got into the UK’s Top 10, and their second album My Universe is scheduled for release in October, which is where the single Beats to Your Rhythm comes from.

The Chainsmokers | Closer
Following success of their singles #Selfie, Roses and Don’t Let Me Down, The Chainsmokers’ new single Closer ft. Halsey is their first number one. Here is their chart-topping sumer hit, though the British summer is nearly over (did it really begin?!)

Olly Murs | You Don’t Know Love
Mr. Murs recently released his new album 24HRS and a nationwide tour, with this flagship single which he is performing tonight on Strictly Come Dancing. The chipper chap is sure to have a few Top 10 singles with his new album, and this one in particular is quite catchy.

Espen Lind, Askil Holm, Alejandro Fuentes, Kurt Nilsen | Hallelujah
I browse YouTube from time to time, listening to covers of songs I like and after an hour …or twelve I found this beauty. It is now my favourite rendition of Hallelujah. These Norwegian solo artists came together a few times to release a few singles and I CAN NOT STOP LISTENING TO THEM. Be sure to listen to their cover of U2’s With or Without You!

Sam Hunt | Make You Miss Me
I love a bit of country music, and recently I have been listening to a lot of Sam Hunt. A couple to have a listen to are Cop Car and Single for the Summer.

Matchbox 20 | How Far We’ve Come
A blast from the past this one! Something to sing while on karaoke. One of my favourites. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

