Taylor Swift Tribute

Taylor Swift Tribute

Taylor Swift. Swiftie. T-Swizzle. TayTay. Tay. T-Swiz. Swiftmeister. Queen Tay turns 26 today! Arguably the most famous singer at the moment alongside Adele and Beyonce. Her albums and tours have smashed records worldwide, I have been lucky enough to go to a live gig of her’s (RED Tour, London) and she was amazing! (Side note: Sam Smith was the guest performance that night, before his subsequent meteoric rise, and The Vamps were the supporting act, who have now built a sizeable fanbase.) I hope you all enjoy this tribute to the beautiful, talented and inspirational woman, who seems to do okay at this music thing! 🎶

5 Guinness World Records. 4 sold out tours. 3 albums selling over a million copies each in one week. 2 blue eyes.  1 Taylor Swift. ❤️

TayTay

Some Stats…
Who doesn’t like a good stat?!

66.5m Twitter Followers
73.3m Facebook Likes
238 awards won from 481 nominations.
Over 40 million albums sold worldwide.
Total YouTube Views: 7,096,337,937

Most viewed videos:
1 : Blank Space | 1,301,564,912
2 : Shake It Off | 1,170,579,990
3 : Bad Blood | 641,048,580

My Favourite Duets:
Honourable mentions go to Ed Sheeran (Everything has Changed) and Gary Lightbody (The Last Time).
TS & Zac Efron | Pumped up Kicks by Foster the People | (From a lovely interview on the Ellen Show)
TS & Tim McGraw | Highway Dont Care | (The look at 1:52…I’m dead!)


TS & Phoebe Buffay (Lisa Kudrow) | Smelly Cat | (Considered a lyrical and musical phenomenon…)

And my favourite trio | TS & Bon Jovi and Prince William! | 👑

My Favourite Singles (Though this changes on a regular basis):

All Too Well | ‘You call me up again just to break me like a promise. So casually cruel in the name of being honest.’
Style | ‘You got that long hair, slicked back, white t-shirt, And I got that good girl faith and a tight little skirt’
Last Kiss | ‘So I’ll watch your life in pictures like I used to watch you sleep, And I feel you forget me like I used to feel you breathe,’

Friends…or my excuse to post a couple of pics of some beautiful ladies…and Ed Sheeran! 😉

taylor Swift_Model_Victoria's Secret Fashion Show 2014_08.12.2014_00

emma-watson-joins-taylor-swift-at-1989-show-in-london

 

Charitable/Humanitarian/ Work 

This post could have been at least 10,000 words if I were to include all of her selfless work for others that she has undertaken that the media have covered, not to mention anything she has done privately. Perhaps I should have paid more extensive focus to this part of the post as this is less known to the public, or, maybe she is modestly trying to keep this from the limelight. Anyhow, her donations to good causes are in the millions and the impact is in no doubt, significant.

She has helped a plethora of charitable organisations, including: UNICEF, Elton John’s AIDS Foundation, Oxfam, Stand Up To Cancer, V Foundation for Cancer Research, Make-A-Wish Foundation, Habitat For Humanity, MusiCares and Feeding America. To add to this list are her charitable donations to many hospitals, disaster relief appeals and centres for the arts.

Recently, she also donated $50,000 to the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, reported on in The Guardian here.

Facts* you may not know about Taylor
*
I got these ‘facts’ from the internet, I can not know for sure if they are 100% legitimate but let’s just go with it.

1 : She’s an American History buff (that would be helpful for me as I’m studying the American Civil War this year)
2 : Her song “Change” was one of the official theme songs at the Beijing 2008 Olympics.
3 : The infamous Kanye West onstage interruption is framed at her home, captioned “Life is full of little interruptions”
4 : At Loft 89 one night, a Chilean fan missed the last bus back to her hotel and Taylor gave her money to find somewhere to stay locally so she would be safe.
5 : Before her first single was released, she had 2 million hits on Myspace. (The thing before Facebook)
6 : The three songs performed the most throughout her career are Love Story, Our Song and You Belong With Me.
7 : The first album she bought on iTunes was Kanye West’s College Dropout.
8 : Two of her fears are sea urchins and being framed.
9 : George Bush sent a letter congratulating her on her 8 Bilboard wins in 2013.
10 : The three most used words out of her entire discography are Know, Never and Love.

11 : It would take Taylor 3 years of everyday concerts to pay off one day of America’s National Debt of $18tr!

my_collage (34)my_collage (35)

I’ve enjoyed making this post immensely, as I have had an excuse to listen to copious amounts of her songs and scroll through tons of images of her to include in this post. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Taylor Swift Tribute

  1. Great post!

    Her album Sparks Fly really spoke to me, so many of those songs I could have written about my own life! I actually struggle to listen to them now as have so many memories attached to them!

Leave a Reply

