World Cup Book Tag

THE WORLD CUP BOOK TAG

With less than a week until the first game of the FIFA World Cup that is held in Russia this year, I thought it would be a good idea to combine my love of football (soccer for my American followers) with my love of books, by doing this fun tag. I look forward to seeing everyone’s answers if you decide to do the tag, if you haven’t been tagged and want to do it, please do it as I am interested in reading everyone’s answers. Please do tag me in your post so I can sneakily read your answers and get some inspiration for reading books that are from or set in countries I haven’t read from.

The Rules: 

* Pick ONE country from each group!
* Your choice can either be an AUTHOR, or a BOOK set in that country.
* If you are struggling, you can pick a book or author you want to read at some point.
* I’ve included a little bit of information about the book, but you can anything you like- post photos of the cover, favourite quotes, go crazy!
* TAG AS MANY PEOPLE AS YOU WANT!

* ALSO, tell everyone, who you are supporting in the World Cup!
* AND, judging by the books/authors you have chosen, which country would win the World Cup!

– GROUP A 

From Russia With Love, by Ian Fleming
‘Bond is once again called into action when M is brought a very peculiar case pertaining to a Russian operative who has apparently fallen in love with James Bond, and also has an important machine in her possession which would unlock the KGB’s secrets for the British. However, unbeknownst to Bond, is the fact that SMERSH will to kill Bond in a manner which would destroy the image of MI5 and be a hugely successful mission for them.’

– GROUP B

Carlos Ruiz Zafon (author of The Shadow of the Wind)
I have read 3 of the Cemetery of Forgotten Books series, including one of my FAVOURITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME, The Shadow of the Wind.

– GROUP C

Markus Zusak (author of The Book Thief)
I was quite surprised to find out that Zusak is Australian when researching authors for this Tag. The Book Thief is such a special book for me and I will continually recommend it to everyone I can. It is also perhaps the best written review I have EVER done. Please do check it out!

– GROUP D

Jorge Luis Borges (author of The Garden of Forking Paths)
The first Penguin Modern book that I read was this set of short stories from this Argentinian writer that loved writing about philosophy, dreams, labyrinths, magical realism and fantasy- sounds like my kind of writer! He is also a major inspiration for many Spanish-writing authors including one of my favourites as we all know now, Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

– GROUP E

Angels and Demons, by Dan Brown, features the nuclear facility CERN based in Geneva.
The best-selling novel and motion picture concerns the Catholic Church, the Illuminati, and the ‘god particle’ created at CERN. These three factors make for one of the most entertaining thrillers ever.

– GROUP F

Munich, by Robert Harris
‘Harris regales the story of the 1938 Munich Agreement between Germany, Britain, France and Italy. Hitler has begun acquiring areas of neighbouring countries, citing their Germanic history, in order to build a stronger homeland. Harris weaves together the events of history with fiction as he tells the story of two men, one German and one English, who play roles in the final meeting between Chamberlain and Hitler in 1938, when peace was still a possibility.’

– GROUP G

Anthony Horowitz (author of the Alex Rider series, House of Silk, and the recently released Forever and a Day)
One of my favourite authors.
I began reading his YA spy novel series, Alex Rider when I was younger, and I have continued reading his work, including 2 Sherlock Holmes novels authorised by the Conan Doyle Estate (House of Silk and Moriarty), as well as 2 James Bond novels authorised by the Fleming Estate (Trigger Mortis and Forever and a Day).
Please note that I have reviewed everything! (Forever and a Day review will be posted on Tuesday)

– GROUP H

The Pigeon Tunnel, by John le Carre, features a story concerning a leader of a Colombian drug cartel.
Le Carre’s The Pigeon Tunnel is a collection of stories, both his own, as well as from other EXTRAORDINARY people that he has encountered in his life.

The winner of the World Cup is…Spain (Carlos Ruiz Zafon) 🇪🇸

I will be supporting…ENGLAND at this year’s World Cup!! 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿


I tag:

Kristin @ Kristin Kraves Books | One of my favourite book bloggers, CHECK HER OUT!

The Girl On The Go Blog | Someone I’ve only recently followed, but I already love the blog!

Marie @ Kook Bookery | Linked up through our love of the Red Queen series.

Shane @ The BlueGreenReader | Another Red Queen lover. A good time to remind people to pick it up!

Kelly @ Another Book in the Wall | A super supportive and friendly blogger who has just reached her 6 month blogiversary 🙂

Amy @ Golden Books Girl | UKYABA Champion Teen 2018! Say no more! Also, she’s a super-nice YA blogger.

Emma @ The Terror of Knowing | Great choice in books (I may be biased!)

Holly @ Nut Free Nerd | One of my favourite bloggers- talking about classics, Oxford and is an expert photographer!

Amy @ Curiouser and Curiouser | Blogs about student life, Shakespeare, Top Tens and classics, I love her blog.

Ashleigh @ A Frolic Through Fiction | My favourite booktuber’s blog- featuring: reviews, wrap ups, and personal posts.

I hope everyone enjoys participating in this Tag, if not/can’t, don’t worry about it. I look forward to reading all your answers. 


The Humpo Show | Richard

The Newsletter

19 thoughts on “World Cup Book Tag

  1. Oh I’m so doing this too. I’m not a football fan, but everyone else in my family is so world cup is what they talk about every day all day.

  2. Pingback: World Cup Book Tag | Zezee with Books

  3. Pingback: :: The World Cup Book Tag - Based On A True Story Based On A True Story ::

  4. Pingback: World Cup Book Tag – Simply a Book Drunkard

  5. Pingback: Euro 2020 : Book Tag | Nottsreader

  6. Pingback: The World Cup Book Tag – First Line Reader

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.