Season Foursome! Game Of Thrones Review

Game Of Thrones Season 4 Review

5 / 5

Climatic end as Winter draws nearer

The season 4 finale of HBO’s hit series and global phenomenon, Game Of Thrones, aired on Sunday night in the US, and it left the eagerly watching audience with a plethora of questions that are eating up every viewer. What will become of King’s Landing? Where are Tyrion and Varys heading for? Will a Cersie and Jaime’s relationship happen? Will Ayra ever be reunited with her family? The Jon Snow and Stannis situation? How long until Daenerys makes her move, and what has become of Drogon? And perhaps the most important one, what will happen because of Bran’s successful journey to “The Children”? Plus, there are so many other unanswered questions concerning each of these characters’ roles next season: Bealish, The Tyrells, Theon, Brienne, Sansa, Jorah, The Mountain, Lord Bolton and so many other character’s that have been perfectly woven into the story, and whose importance is yet to be determined.

The scene which for myself and perhaps a great deal many of Game Of Thrones fans that is my favourite of the season and perhaps the programme in its entirety, is the final scene in episode 6, “The Laws of Gods and Men”, when Tyrion’s passionate and angry speech leads to his trial being decided by combat. His defence which was so brilliantly acted by Peter Dinklage, gave me goosebumps and left me in shock and open mouthed. That is my highlight of the season!

Tyrion

“The Children” episode, the finale, was absolutely spot on with every scene, there didn’t seem to be any dialogue or unnecessary action wasted for the sake of it. Every line and word was meaningful and well-thought out. The thing that has intrigued me the most and will be eating me up inside until season 5, is what will happen with Bran, the children of the forest and the 3-eyed-raven. There was one line that was brilliant and perfect cliff-hanger material. “You’ll never walk again. But you will fly!”- 3-eyed-raven. Will the heart tree that Bran has journeyed towards play a big part in season 5? Will Bran be able to have the sight of not just his direwolf and Hodor, but also other animals and birds, maybe even a Dragon? Are the old Gods of the North real? Who are The Children of the Forest? Who is the 3-eyed-raven? I feel Bran will have a crucial part to play in the coming season and probably every one after. Let’s hope the conclusion lives up the suspense that has been created.

Bran

I’m yet to read the books by G.R.R. Martin, and now with about a year to wait for season 5 to arrive, I am now contemplating whether or not to satisfy my desire to know what happens next in the books or not. I have read books such as Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, Da Vinci Code and Atonement before they were produced into films, so by the time I watched them I didn’t experience the unpredictable nature and not knowing what happens next which I am experiencing now with Game Of Thrones… Perhaps I’ve already made the decision to not read the books right now, and to enjoy the wait and the ride that the HBO series offers.

Here’s to the next season, may it be as suspenseful, brilliant and as brutal as season 4 has been!

“All men must die!”

7 thoughts on “Season Foursome! Game Of Thrones Review

  1. I keep saying I’ll read the books but I never do. Usually, when a book is made into a movie or TV series, it just seems redundant to me to read to book, although I hear the books are different than the show in the case of Game of Thrones.

    Anyway, here’s my blog, where I talk about books, and provide the occasional Game of Thrones commentary:

    http://www.bookshelfbattle.com

  2. This was great! I really think you should read the books! They are brilliant and although it takes away the element of suprise in the show they are totally worth it 🙂

    • Thanks! 🙂
      I will get round to them eventually, I might even consider reading the prequels. But it’s refreshing watching something and not knowing what will come next. You never know though, I might not be able to wait a year for season 5 …

  3. So many great highlights from this season from the trial by combat to Joffrey’s wedding. I think it’s worth checking out the books, if you’re worried about spoilers stick with the first couple of books which cover Season 1 & 2.

  4. Pingback: Game of Thrones | The Humpo Show

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.