Keira Knightley Tribute

Keira Knightley Tribute 26th March

I’ve not done a Tribute for a while, so I thought I would start again by doing one of my favourite actresses, the beautiful and talented Keira Knightley who turns 32 today!

Bend it like Beckham
Released: 2002
IMDb Rating: 6.7
My Rating: 7.7

Jess Bhamra (Parminder Nagra), the daughter of a strict Indian couple (Anupam Kher, Shaheen Khan) in London, is not permitted to play organized soccer, even though she is 18. When Jess is playing for fun one day, her impressive skills are seen by Jules Paxton (Keira Knightley), who then convinces Jess to play for her semi-pro team. Jess uses elaborate excuses to hide her matches from her family while also dealing with her romantic feelings for her coach, Joe.

Not only a brilliant film in its own right, but also a great education for young people growing up with similar pressures. This film featured in a previous post of mine, Films I Think Students Should Watch, for the reason I have just mentioned. This was the film where Keira first gained recognition for acting, but also because of her amazing body and looks.

Pirates of the Caribbean Trilogy
Released: 2003 | 2006 | 2007
IMDb Rating: 8.0 | 7.3 | 7.1
My Rating: 8.7

The hugely successful franchise featuring the swashbuckling exploits of Captain Jack Sparrow, blacksmith Will Turner and the spirited Elizabeth Swann. The franchise has made over a $1bn and helped to establish Keira as a leading lady actress. 

Elizabeth Swann is the role that Knightley is best known for. She began the trilogy as almost as the stereotypical damsel in distress, but finished it as one of the strongest and fiercest ship captains. No explanation needed here as I am sure everyone has watched at least one of these films!

Love Actually
Released: 2003
IMDb Rating: 7.7
My Rating: 10.0

Nine intertwined stories examine the complexities of the one emotion that connects us all: love. Featuring an all star cast. 

My favourite all time film. Keira’s role is best remembered for Lincoln’s declaration of love for her through cards. She reprised the role for Red Nose Day this year.

King Arthur
Released: 2004
IMDb Rating: 6.3
My Rating: 7.0

In this interpretation of the classic tale, Arthur (Clive Owen) is a cavalry officer in the Roman army defending Hadrian’s Wall against rebellious Britons. He and his troops are expecting to be relieved but are instead sent on a risky mission to rescue the Roman family of Marius Honorius, who proves a despicable torturer of pagans. Arthur frees one of them, Guinevere (Keira Knightley), who in turn brokers a truce between Arthur and the Britons so as to ward off an invading Saxon army.

Despite mixed-to-negative reviews I quite enjoyed the film. Knightley is quite impressive as a warlike character that puts on a different spin to the King Arthur tale.

Atonement
Released: 2007
IMDb Rating: 7.8
My Rating: 8.2

This sweeping English drama, based on the book by Ian McEwan, follows the lives of young lovers Cecilia Tallis (Keira Knightley) and Robbie Turner (James McAvoy). When the couple are torn apart by a lie constructed by Cecilia’s jealous younger sister, Briony (Saoirse Ronan), all three of them must deal with the consequences. Robbie is the hardest hit, since Briony’s deception results in his imprisonment, but hope for Cecilia and her beau increases when their paths cross during World War II.

A fantastic film based off McEwan’s fantastic book. Memorably known for the scene below, and perhaps the sex scne between Knightley and MacAvoy, which she discussed on The Graham Norton Show.

The Imitation Game
Released: 2014
IMDb Rating: 8.1
My Rating: 8.4

In 1939, newly created British intelligence agency MI6 recruits Cambridge mathematics alumnus Alan Turing (Benedict Cumberbatch) to crack Nazi codes, including Enigma — which cryptanalysts had thought unbreakable. Turing’s team, including Joan Clarke (Keira Knightley), analyze Enigma messages while he builds a machine to decipher them. Turing and team finally succeed and become heroes, but in 1952, the quiet genius encounters disgrace when authorities reveal he is gay and send him to prison.

The supporting role here displays Knightley’s great acting ability, and she earned some supporting actress nominations for this role.

Films I Haven’t Watched, But Plan To…Pride and Prejudice, The Last Duchess and Anna Karenina

Funny Videos

Keira Knightley and Benedict Cumberbatch Interview

Keira Knightley’s Sex Faces | The Graham Norton Show

Some Bloopers from Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest

Interesting Facts

0 She was Natalie Portman’s decoy queen in Star Wars: Phantom Menace.

0 At the time, she was the second youngest actress to nominated for Best Actress at the Oscars (20) for Pride and Prejudice.

0 Bend it Like Beckham was the first western film to be broadcast on North Korea Television in 2010.


The Humpo Show | Richard

18 thoughts on “Keira Knightley Tribute

      • It is and it was. I was surprised to see her in such a film. She did okay, but I wasn’t very convinced that she’s a gun-toting badass with a foul mouth. Despite all that, I still love the movie.

  1. Great post. I liked her in Bend it Like Beckham. But, my favourite movie of hers is undoubtedly Pride and Prejudice, she is just so perfect as Lizzy there. I also previously reviewed a movie Last Night with her, and thought she was good there too. Though, I think she was miscast in Anna Karenina, and the Duchess was painful to watch.

    • My mum has watched the film a million times and she keeps telling me to watch it. I will get around to it one day!
      Fair enough about Karenina and Duchess, they’re not high on the list to watch, but I think I’ll watch them all the same when I get a chance.
      Seeking A Friend For The End Of The Earth looks watchable too..

  2. Great post. I always enjoy her. Hope you watch Pride & Prejudice soon – I love that movie. I also enjoy her in Laggies (a movie I nearly passed by) and Begin Again was really nice too. Anna Karenina is also fantastic (I really enjoyed the style used for all the “sets”). Gosh, the list goes on (besides the ones you have mentioned)….she’s just great!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.