9 Upcoming Films of 2017

9 Upcoming Films of 2017

Here we have 9 films that I am personally excited about. They range from a cinematic war epic, to a film about an all-female a cappella group. These films below are the big-budget films with stellar casts that should do well at the box-office, although their critical reception is still to be determined.

P.S. The release dates are UK- other countries may vary…

Let me know what your favourites are, and the film you are most looking forward to seeing! 

Favourite Cast: Murder on the Orient Express
Favourite Trailer: Blade Runner 2049
Most Anticipated: Star Wars: The Lat Jedi

Dunkirk
21st July 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Hardy, Cillian Murphy, Kenneth Branagh, Mark Rylance, James D’Arcy, Aneurin Barnard, Harry Styles, Jack Lowden, Tom Glynn-Carney

Atomic Blonde
9th August 2017
Director: David Leitch
Starring: Charlize Theron, James MacAvoy, John Goodman, Til Schweiger, Toby Jones

The Dark Tower
18th August 2017
Director: Nikolaj Arcel
Starring: Idris Elba, Matthew McConaughey, Tom Taylor, Katheryn Winnick, Claudia Kim

American Made
25th August 2017
Director: Doug Liman
Starring: Tom Cruise, Sarah Wright, Domhnall Gleeson, Jayma Mays, Jesse Plemons, Lola Kirke

Blade Runner 2049
6th October 2017
Director: Denis Villeneuve
Starring: Ryan Gosling, Harrison Ford, Ana de Armas, Jared Leto, Mackenzie Davis, Sylvia Hoeks, Robin Wright

Thor: Ragnarok
27th October 2017
Director: Taika Waititi
Starring: Chris Hemsworth, Tom Hiddleston, Cate Blanchett, Idris Elba, Jeff Goldblum, Tessa Thompson, Karl Urban, Mark Ruffalo, Anthony Hopkins

Murder on the Orient Express
3rd November 2017
Director: Kenneth Branagh
Starring: Kenneth Branagh, Penelope Cruz, Willem Dafoe, Judi Dench, Johnny Depp, Josh Gad, Daisy Ridley, Derek Jacobi, Leslie Odom Jr., Michelle Pfeiffer

Star Wars: The Last Jedi
14th December 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Starring: Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Andy Serkis

Pitch Perfect 3
22nd December 2017
Directed: Trish Sie
Starring: Anna Kendrick, Rebel Wilson, Brittany Snow, Anna Camp, Hailee Steinfeld, Alexis Knapp, Hana Mae Lee, Ester Dean, Chrissie Fit, Elizabeth Banks, John Michael Higgins


The Humpo Show | Richard

25 thoughts on “9 Upcoming Films of 2017

  1. Great list. I am looking forward to the majority of films on your list. My most anticipated one is Blade Runner, I just cannot wait for it and will definitely see it on the big screen. I am not sure I am looking forward to Murder on the Orient Express. I am a bit angry that the film was even made – I do not see any point in it (everyone knows the story), and if this is their Hercule Poirot, then they need to go and see a doctor 🙂

    • The Blade Runner trailer looks epic!
      Branagh’s moustache is a bit ridiculous and the story has been told countless times, David Suchet is the one I associate with Poirot, but the trailer is slick and the cast is stellar, so I might reserve my judgement until November.
      Thanks for your thoughts! 🙂

      • The cast is really unbelievably good. Depp, Pfeiffer, Cruz, Dafoe, Dench and Branagh all in one movie? You know how they say that if it takes that many stars to pull a movie, it cannot be possibly good? I think it is not the case here, because it is Agatha Christie – the great story is already there.

  2. YES! Can’t wait to see Ragnarok, The Last Jedi, and Pitch Perfect 3! I was just watching the first Thor movie a little bit ago and CHRIS HEMSWORTH IS GETTING OLD. It’s actually crazy (prepare for me to go on the ‘time flies by’ rant but) 2011 was 6 YEAR AGO WHAT WHEN DID THAT HAPPEN. XD says the teenager…I’m gonna be such a stereo typical old lady someday. 😂😂

    • Having been born in the ’90s, I refer to anyone born after the year 2000, 12 years old haha!!
      The Ragnarok trailer looks epic, I have high hopes!!

  3. Now I must admit David Suchet will always be Poirot to me but the cast for Murder on the Orient Express looks epic and it’ll be interesting to see it adapted for the big screen. I have high hopes for this film. Dunkirk is another most anticipated film of mine. I’m a sucker for war films. They always punch me in the feels. How can anyone not be excited for Star Wars (despite the fact I’ve still not seen the first 6 films in their entirety). 😛

    • I couldn’t tell you another TV programme or film that David Suchet has been in other than Poirot. He IS Poirot! The cast and the trailer for MotOE looks impressive!
      I have a feeling Dunkirk will be epic, on the same footing as Saving Private Ryan. I have high hopes!!
      Woooahhhhhhh….what?! What Star Wars films have you seen in their entirety, or is it all 6 of them?

      • I’ve seen the new ones in their entirety but when it comes to the original 6 they all kind of blur into one. I remember Jar Jar Binks haha. I blame the messed up chronology for my not having watched them.

  4. I’m not really into movies, but I saw the trailers for Dunkirk and The Dark Tower the other day and have a feeling I ought to check them out 🙂 They look very intriguing!

Leave a Reply

