2017 Book Challenge List

2017 Book Challenge List

I haven’t done a book challenge before, but I am doing one this year in the hope that I can be motivated to read the books on this list, rather than getting distracted and buying other books and therefore, pushing down these books into the never-ending TBR list. I have tailored the list to categories and books that I want to read, as well as new genres that I am new to. 

Autobiography/Memoir | I received the Kenneth Williams Diaries as a Christmas present.

An Author Under 30 | Not sure whether to do a modern book from a person under 30, or to read a book from throughout history by an author who was under 30 at the time.

Based on a True Story | I have In Cold Blood by Truman Capote on my shelf already.

Contemporary Fiction | The Kite Runner is top of the list here.

Feminist Book | As a member of Emma Watson’s Shared Shelf, I think it is about time I read something on the list.

Festive Book | My True Love Gave To Me is popular among bloggers this year, so I think I might have to read it for the festive period next year.

History Book | I am interested in American Presidents and History, so might read a biography on Lincoln.

Indie Book | Suggestions welcome for this category. There are quite a lot of interesting books, especially YA books.

Novella | Torn between reading Aveyard’s Cruel Crown, and Flynn’s The Grownup.

Play | I might make my way through Arthur Miller’s plays (Death of a Salesman, The Crucible, All My Sons and A View from a Bridge) I have read some, and have seen some at the theatre.

Pulitzer Prize Winner | I’ll have a look on Wikipedia at past winners and decide which I think I’ll like best.

Short Stories | Different Seasons by King is highest on the list for this category.

Translated Book | Most likely something from Zafon, or I might read something from Marquez.

Young-Adult Series | Any suggestions are welcome!

Classics that I plan to read this year: Catcher in the Rye (currently reading), Naked Lunch, The Stranger, Animal Farm, The War of the Worlds, This Side of Paradise, The Sun Also Rises, Grapes of Wrath and The Trial.

I hope everyone has had a great Christmas, and you all have a Happy New Year! 


The Humpo Show | Richard 

20 thoughts on “2017 Book Challenge List

  1. For young adult series, I highly, highly recommend Six of Crows if you haven’t already read it. It’s only a duology, so it’s not much of commitment. Plus, the characters, world building, and story is just plain fab. Oh and there’s a heist involved!

    Anyway, good luck with your 2017 reading challenge. Wishing you a happy new year, Richard. Cheers!

  2. ‘…rather than getting distracted and buying other books and therefore, pushing down these books into the never-ending TBR list.’
    This is me ALL THE TIME, but hopefully, 2017 will be better for my reading choices, like you too, I’d like to look at my lists instead of getting distracted :p

  3. Awesome:) I shall embark on a Book Challenge List too. Am going to put together my list now 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. Good luck with this. If you would like a recommendation for a Pulitzer Prize Winner….Lonesome Dove is absolutely magnificent. It is my all-time favourite book. I couldn’t stop reading it and once I’d finished, I couldn’t start anything else for 2 weeks because reading anything else felt so wrong and like it would never satisfy.
    Just word of “warning”…the first 60 or so pages may seem slow…I gave up there on my first attempt. Someone told me to get beyond that and I’ll be hooked….that’s exactly what happened. From about page 100 I couldn’t put the book down.

Leave a Reply

