Alan Rickman Tribute

Alan Rickman Tribute

The devastating news that Alan Rickman has passed away today aged 69 has left me genuinely shocked. The brilliant Brtish actor has seen him play some iconic roles over the course of a very successful career, and he has left his mark on the film industry for decades to come. I will list my favourite roles/films that he has been in.

Alan RickmanFebruary 21, 1946 - January 14, 2016 (2)

Die Hard | Hans Gruber

One of the most revered and strangely likeable villains of all time, Hans Gruber, played perfectly by Rickman has a plethora of brilliant lines, including “I’m going to count to three.” and “Nice suit”. He will be remembered fondly by Die Hard fans.

When Hans meets John McClane…

Harry Potter | Severus Snape

No words are needed to explain the perfection of Rickman as Snape.

The most famous Harry Potter scene, from Deathly Hallows Part 2

Robin Hood | Sheriff of Nottingham

My favourite Robin Hood film, stars Rickman in a role he owned, the evil Sheriff of Nottingham. Kevin Costner stars as Robin, Morgan Freeman as Azeem and Brian Blessed as Lord Locksley. This is a classic that everyone should see, and it also has the brilliant Bryan Adams hit “Everything I do (I do it for you).

Best scene: “I will cut your heart out with a spoon!”

Love Actually | Harry

One of my favourite films of all time, Rickman plays a husband who is enticed by a young and attractive colleague. He plays the fool well, and he has great chemistry with Emma Thompson, who plays his heartbroken wife.

Brilliant scene with Rowan Atkinson, “Would you like it gift wrapped?

Alan Rickman has left a legacy in the film industry which will never be removed. His portrayal as Severus Snape is what he’ll be known for, but he was so much more than one character. He was evidently a wonderful human being clearly shown through the enormous outpouring of actors and viewers alike. His performances will be watched and re-watched by generations to come, and everyone will come to hate his characters as well as love them, a sign of truly great actor who has mastered his craft. Rest in peace Alan Rickman. 

17 thoughts on “Alan Rickman Tribute

  1. In graduate school all I had was a VCR with a few videos. Two of which were the Die Hard movies. I loved Alan Rickman as Hans Gruber, yes, and Snape too but to me he will always be Hans Gruber.

  2. Yes, yes and yes to all the films picked as tributes. There will NEVER be another Snape – we need a law passing to make it so. And there really is only one Robin Hood film worth watching.
    That quote of his is heartbreakingly lovely 😦

  3. A week later I am still trying to get my head round it, as I said at the time with David Bowie and Lemmy I was sad but with Alan Rickman I am heartbroken, he is in 3 of my fav films, Die Hard, Robin Hood and Love actually, I think if he had been in clue or death by murder I probably wouldn’t of coped,

    • I won’t be able to watch anything, especially Potter, the same again. I have loved all the quotes, videos and favourite bits about him that have come about since his death.

Leave a Reply

