Bookish Scenarios Tag

Bookish Scenarios Tag

Thank you to FOREVERSHANNON for nominating me to participate in this tag. I love doing these sorts of posts, even if they mainly laud the Harry Potter series, I’ve tried my best to make this more than just about Harry Potter. I really have! Everyone check out Shannon’s blog, we’re new followers of each other, but I can already tell her blog is right up my street!

The Bookish

1. You have to get rid of all your books and you can only keep one from each of these genres – contemporary, fantasy, non-fiction and one other genre of your choosing. What books do you keep?

ContemporaryAngels and Demons by Dan Brown. My favourite Dan Brown novel. Set in Rome, Robert Langdon, a professor in religious typography and iconography, has been brought in to help uncover the location of abducted cardinals who are up for election as the new Pope. The group responsible are the Illuminati and there is also a canister of antimatter (comparable to a nuclear bomb) hidden somewhere in the Vatican. A thrilling novel with events happening at break-neck speed. Highly recommended.

FantasyThe Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman. The last in his Dark Materials, but it is also the best of them. With ever book, this series improved and it built to a fascinatingly well thought out climax. Not only is this a brilliant fantasy novel, but it also an illuminating commentary on the religion and science debate concerning God.

Amber Spyglass Image

Non-fictionUp the Line to Death by Brian Gardner. A poetry anthology which I came into contact with while studying World War I poetry for my English Literature A-Level and I again utilised it in the poetry module of my Degree. This anthology brought poets such as Siegfried Sassoon, Wilfred Owen and Isaac Rosenberg. My favourite poem is John McCrae’s In Flanders Field, which is where the poppy began to have significance in the remembering of fallen soldiers.

MysteryThe Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafron. The single best book I have ever read, I recommend this to everyone and anyone. It blends together a plethora of genres and etymologically-speaking, it is the most well-written book I have ever encountered. The first page alone was enough to capture my attention, and I was subsequently engrossed for every single page that followed it.

2. You’re at the bookstore and you hear a teenager telling their mom they don’t like to read, but their mom insists they pick something. You walk over and recommend a book you think is great for people who aren’t big on reading – what book is it?

Percy Jackson. I ravished all of the series in under a month, the books were fascinating and it also helps to educate them on Greek and Roman Mythology. My favourite book of The Olympians series was the Battle of the Labyrinth and the Last Olympian. Then the following Heroes of Olympus series is also equally brilliant, introducing more characters. The House of Hades is my favourite of that particular series. A must-read for teenagers!

3. You’re not feeling yourself and need a pick me up. Which book do you read to put yourself in a great mood?

I’ve been clearing out lots of things from the loft, my Grandma’s house, the various bookcases and everywhere else, and I found three Mock the Week books which have kept me entertained this week. For those of you that aren’t from the UK, Mock the Week used to be a very popular comedy panel show with comedy that would go very close to the knuckle and push the boundaries more often than not. The book is based on the end of show Scenes Unlikely To See…
“Lines you wouldn’t find in a Harry Potter book”
– ‘It tastes funny,’ Harry heard Hermione say in a muffled voice.
– It wasn’t only Harry’s feet that stuck out from his cloak of invisibility, as he sneaked into the girls’ changing room.
– ‘Have you noticed the resemblance between Hagrid and Robbie Coltrane?’ asked Hermione.

4. You go back in time for a day to your childhood years. What book would you most likely have caught yourself reading?

Harry Potter. I am a huge Potterhead. I have deliberately only answered one question with Harry Potter though I could have answered every question with Harry Potter. I decided to answer this question, because Harry Potter was the first series that I loved. I got the first book when I was 6, so it’s been in my life for 17 years!

5. Your friend surprises you with a 4 day trip and you have 1 hour to pack. Which book do you bring to read on the way?

Love in a Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. I haven’t read this book which is why I have chosen it, plus the reviews that I have read have said they have read it while on holiday and enjoyed it immensely, so that explains why I am packing it. Someone is taking me on this trip, right?

6. Your house has been robbed! Don’t worry – everyone is safe, but your bookshelf has been raided. What’s the book you really hope is safe?

Any Sherlock Holmes book, I have a nice, neat and complete collection and if someone stole any of them it would really peeve me off. (To put it nicely!)

7. Your friend borrows a book and returns it in awful condition. Do you a) Just pretend you haven’t noticed, b) Ask them to repurchase it, or c) Secretly do the same to something of theirs?

I think my friends would probably buy a replacement if this event should ever arise.

The five amazing bloggers that I nominate are…

Jolien | The Fictional Reader

The Bookshelf Battle

Emma | TheBookBrief

Matt | The Book Blogger

Emily | Books and Cleverness

Give them a follow guys!

Richard

3 thoughts on “Bookish Scenarios Tag

Leave a Reply

