Songs I Am Currently Listening To Vol. 7

Songs I Am Currently Listening To Vol. 7

In this week’s edition of songs that I have been listening to recently. The list includes Against The Current, Echosmith, Dorothy, Jack Savoretti, Jamie Lawson, Ollie Bryan, Sam Cooke and Otis Redding. A bit of an eclectic mix, including Ed Sheeran’s first artist signed to his label, a band on their world tour and 2 Soul legends! Have a listen and let me know which ones you enjoy, if you’re already a fan and suggestions for other songs to listen to. 🙂

my_collage (27)

Against the Current | Fireproof

The band have embarked on their world tour Gravity, I unfortunately was busy when they were touring the UK, but I seen them live the last time they came over and I can safely say that they are a brilliant band and will undoubtedly go on to bigger things as their fanbase continues to expand.

Fun Fact: They have 1.24m subscribers and 126m views of their music videos…Also, lead singer Chrissy is in fact a lion! 

 

Echosmith | Let’s Love

I have only recently discovered Echosmith after they performed on The Late Late Show with James Corden. But after their performance, I have consequently listened to loads of their songs as they are a brilliant and fresh band that are sure to do well. Plus Sydney is beautifully cute!

Fun Fact: The band consists of 4 siblings. Sydney, Jamie, Graham and Noah Sierota.

 

DOROTHY | After Midnight

I heard this as background music for the new season of Empire and the song stuck in my head. This then went on repeat for quite a while and I still love it.

Fun Fact: They were placed at #14 on Rolling Stone’s Best New Artists list of 2014.

 

Jack Savoretti | Written in Scars 

A fantastically unique voice. If you enjoy listening to Written in Scars, then you will have to check out Tie Me Down, The Other Side of Love and Home.

Jamie Lawson | Wasn’t Expecting That 

Lawson is the first person to be signed to Ed Sheeran’s label Gingerbread Man Records. He has re-released Wasn’t Expecting That and his next single Ahead of Myself is already one of my favourites. Under Sheeran’s guidance and promotion, his star no doubt will be on the rise soon, especially with Sheeran’s fame in the US.

Galantis | Peanut Butter Jelly (Ollie Bryan Cover) 

I really enjoy covers of popular songs, especially songs which you don’t envisage being covered acoustically. Peanut Butter Jelly is definitely the case and Ollie Bryan does an excellent job.

my_collage (29)

Sam Cooke | Twistin’ The Night Away 

Sam Cooke | Having A Party 

Otis Redding | Can’t Turn You Loose 

Otis Redding | Shake 

Cooke and Redding are a couple of my Soul and Rhythm and Blues singers. I’ve picked 2 songs from each of them, but to be honest I could have picked so many more. These 4 songs are great to dance to, so pop these on and have a little groove!

8 thoughts on “Songs I Am Currently Listening To Vol. 7

Leave a Reply

