Graham Norton Show Tribute

The Graham Norton Show Tribute

This post is a tribute to the double BAFTA winning chat show The Graham Norton Show. It has been 6 years since the first Graham Norton Show on BBC One (Although it was on BBC Two for the previous 2 years) and I thought that I would commemorate my favourite chat show by doing a small tribute to the brilliant host, fascinating interviews, talented music guests and the hilarious moments that have happened throughout the show’s history. If I were to hazard a guess at the amount of guests that have appeared on the show in it’s entirety, I would say around 900 or so. (Anyone knows the exact amount?) It is now in its 18th series and still going strong!

my_collage (19)

This year alone the guest-list reads; Robert De Niro, Anne Hathaway, Tom Hiddleston, Sir Kenneth Branagh, Matt Damon, Lewis Hamilton, Ewan McGregor, Arnold Schwarenegger, Emilia Clarke, Jake Gyllenhaal, Mark Wahlberg, Seth MacFarlane, Cyndi Lauper, Chris Pratt, George Clooney, Hugh Laurie, Dwayne Johnson, Snoop Dogg, Kylie Minogue, Matt LeBlanc, Kit Harrington, Rebel Wilson, Will Smith, Margot Robbie, Dame Judi Dench, David Attenborough, David Tennant and many many more.

Before The Graham Norton Show came to air and to prominence, there were other chat shows that Graham hosted on Channel 4, Comedy Central and BBC One. So Graham Norton, V Graham Norton, The Graham Norton Effect and Graham Norton’s Bigger Picture were his previous projects before gaining national and global attention with his BBC One chat show that regularly receives 4m viewers at 10:35pm Friday night, plus the millions of views of the interviews and funny moments on YouTube. He has also proved to be the ideal replacement for Terry Wogan as the commentator/host of the Eurovision Song Contest with Graham continuing on with the jokes and sarcasm about the various contestants and the biased voting that occurs.

There have been many memorable moments over the years. A drunk Mark Wahlberg, Paul Rudd and Helen Mirren snogging, Seth MacFarlane singing Cyndi Lauper songs with Family Guy voices, Rebel Wilson’s Nunchuck Skills, Matt LeBlanc singing Joey songs, Michael Fassbender, Hugh Jackman and James McAvoy dancing to Blurred Lines and a ton more brilliantly funny moments.

Here are my 10 personal favourite moments from the show…

The Carlton Dance

Fresh Prince fans anyone? 

Daniel Radcliffe Sings The Elements

“There’s antimony, arsenic, aluminium, selenium…”

Rihanna’s Awkward Bikini Wax

Just plain awkward.

Guy Gets Rejected on National Television

She is absolutely, totally and utterly brutal!

Ricky Gervais Calls Louis Walsh

Who’s Ricky Gervay?

Olly Murs Embarrassed in front of Mila Kunis!

Be careful what you tweet. You never know if it’ll come back to haunt you.

Eddie Redmayne’s Sexual Awakening

Disney fetish anyone?

Fan Gives Great Response to 50 Shades Book

The only word to describe the 50 Shades of Grey book.

The Worst Fans of Bradley Cooper, Jo Brand and Stephen Merchant

Do not ask for an autograph like this.

Seth MacFarlane’s Kermit the Frog’s Taken Speech

“But what I do have are a very particular set of skills…”

My favourite episode had a guest-list consisting of Matt Damon, Bill Murray, Hugh Bonneville and Paloma Faith. Here is a little clip, but I strongly advise you to find and watch the whole episode as it was the perfect chat show interview and all the guests had such good rapport with each other. I loved it!

My personal favourite musical guest performance was Mumford and Sons’ Wilder Mind | The Wolf

Along with Mumford and Sons’ stirring performance, the following artists make up my top 5 musical performances on Graham Norton.

U2 | Song For Someone (Acoustic) 

Ed Sheeran | Drunk  

Emeli Sande | Clown

Adele | Set Fire To The Rain

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post and the videos as much as I have in making it. Please let me know your thoughts on any particular guest or video you like, or one I haven’t managed to get in.

7 thoughts on “Graham Norton Show Tribute

  1. An you please do more?! I love watching the clips, usually catching them on YouTube etc. But I always forget to watch the entire show. And I really don’t know why because when I do watch it, it’s amazing. So until my brain kicks into gear and work out how to set a reminder on my phone, maybe you could do Norton monthly round ups? 😀

    • Thank you!
      I might try and do something like that at some point, but my blog will be taking a bit of a backseat this year as it is my final year at university. I’ll try my best though! 🙂

      • Terrific! But as a teacher, I shouldn’t be expecting you to neglect your studies, so yes focus is good! I think I need to go back to uni and learn how to spell – predictive text is always a good thing to blame…

  2. Absoposilutely the best talk show I have ever seen! Or probably ever will see. This show I would go see in person if ever possible. The man is brilliant.

Leave a Reply

