Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most Books From

This is the first time I am participating in a Top Ten Tuesday! I have seen many people I follow participate in this weekly challenge, and after seeing some of their posts today, I thought I would quickly rustle up my own Top Ten Tuesday post in response to this week’s challenge, which has been created by the blog The Broke and the Bookish.

top-ten-tuesday

1. Anthony Horowitz- 11 – I have read 9 of Horowitz’s Alex Rider series, which is about a schoolboy-cum-spy that is a thrilling read for those who enjoy James Bond, in particularly boys who imagine themselves as an MI5 secret agent! Horowitz is also the only person to be officially endorsed by the Conan Doyle Estate to write a Sherlock Holmes Novel titled House of Silk and its follow-up Moriarty, which I have also read and reviewed. He has also been so kind to reply to my tweets and reviews of his books.

my_collage (12)

2. Roald Dahl- 10 – I grew up reading Dahl’s books and they made up most of the books I read when I was younger and also probably started my love for books and stories. I have read: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Matilda, The BFG, James and the Giant Peach, The Witches, The Twits, George’s Marvellous Medicine, Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator, The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar, and six more and Charlie’s Secret Chocolate Book. My favourites are The BFG, The Twits and Charlie’s Secret Chocolate Book (mainly because the book smelled of chocolate!!)

dahl collection

3. J. K. Rowling- 10 – 100% of the books I have read by Rowling are all associated with the Potterverse. Her 7 Harry Potter novels and the three companion books (Quidditch Through The Ages, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and The Tales of Beedle the Bard) she has released to compliment the series, to raise money for charity and to satisfy the Potterheads’ need for more and more information about everything to do with the Potterverse.

my_collage (14)

4. Rick Riordan- 10 – I devoured his Percy Jackson series in a month and almost did the same with his Heroes of Olympus series, but I had to wait for House of Hades and The Blood of Olympus to be released. I have now completed both series and I loved them both, but his books I have now grown out of so I won’t be reading his new book series on Norse Mythology.

pjheroes-of-olympus

5.  Arthur Conan Doyle- 8 – I watched some early television adaptations of Sherlock Holmes before I began reading the first of the books, and since then Robert Downey Jr has made 2 hugely successful films and of course the runaway success of the BBC’s Sherlock series starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman. And due to both of the successes, it has spawned even more adaptations including the US TV Series Elementary and Russia’s Sherlok Kholms, but none can beat the original Conan Doyle book series. Fun Fact- Sherlock Holmes is the portrayed human literary character of all time with over 250 film, TV and stage adaptations of the famous detective.

sherlocksir-arthur-conan-doyle

6. Dan Brown- 6Angels and Demons is one of my favourite all-time books and I really enjoy all of his other books as well, even though he gets a bit of bad press in some quarters. He is entertaining, brings history and religion alive and creates stories that captivate the reader completely. I have read all of books: Angels and Demons, The Da Vinci Code, The Lost Symbol, Inferno, Deception Point and Digital Fortress.

dan browndan brown books

7. Ian Fleming- 4 – I have watched every Bond film and I love the character, and I have imagined myself as him so many times after watching the films. There was a BBC documentary on quite a few years ago that I watched and afterwards I said to myself I’d read all of Fleming’s Bond books. So far I have managed…4. But I am determined to read them all, especially as I am finding them very readable and the Vintage covers look amazing. I will read and review From Russia With Love soon!

my_collage (15)

8. J. R. R. Tolkien- 4 – Every fantasy book lover has had to have read The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings series right?! A timeless classic which will be read for many more generations to come.

tolkienhobbit

9. Philip Pullman- 4 – His Dark Materials trilogy is now among my favourite book series I have ever read, with the Amber Spyglass now one my top 10 books. Pullman and Tolkien are both similar in that their books will outlast all of us and be read by children and adults for many years to come. I read Ruby in the Smoke at school, and I remember being utterly transfixed by the story and forgetting everything else around me. It is an amazing book and I will endeavour to read it again and the other books in the series.

my_collage (17)

10. Suzanne Collins- 3The Hunger Games trilogy was one of my first forays into the YA genre, in particular the dystopian science-fiction novel which has now spawned hundreds of imitations. The first two books were exciting and unique and the third and final book was a little weaker than the previous two although I still enjoyed it.

Suzanne+Collins+Hunger+Games+Mockingjay+Part+nTHtc0DReRnl

hunger games trilogy

 

 

 

 

 

 

I enjoyed this Top Ten Challenge and I will try to be better prepared next time, rather than doing all this in one day!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most Books From

  1. We have quite a few of the same authors on our lists! I’ve seen Anthony Horowitz’s books around but never read one yet. I didn’t realise he was officially endorsed to write the Moriarty books, might have to give them a try! Thanks for visiting 🙂

    • The Moriarty book was a sequel to his Holmes book…kindof. I definitely recommend both his House of Silk and Moriarty.
      You’re welcome! I’m going to try and do more Top Ten Tuesdays, so I’ll keep an eye out for yours too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

