My 100th Post!

My 100th Post!

With it being my 100th post, I thought I would share some things about me, and I have done that through some top tens of films, books, songs, actors, actresses and places that I like. I also want to say thank you to all my followers that have made me feel that my blog is somewhat interesting and have left comments and liked my blog posts. I know this is a bit of a long post and I apologise for that, but I can assure you this will be the longest post I ever do … until the 200th!
keep-calm-and-like-my-100th-post-1

Top #10 Favourite DVDs I Own DSC_0515

Love Actually
Catch Me If You Can
Moulin Rouge
Les Miserables
Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl
The Matrix
The Hangover
The Dark Knight
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
F.R.I.E.N.D.S Box-Set

Top #10 Favourite Books I Own

Carlos Ruiz Zafron: The Shadow of the Wind
J. K. Rowling
: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Virgil: The Aeneid
Philip Pullman: The Amber Spyglass
Ian McEwan:
Atonement
Anthony Horowitz:
The House of Silk
Dan Brown:
Angels and Demons
Harper Lee:
To Kill A Mockingbird
Arthur Conan Doyle
: Sherlock Holmes and the Sign of Four
J. R. R. Tolkien: The Hobbit

DSC_0514

Top #10 Songs

Foo FightersBest of You
John MayerSlow Dancing in a Burning Room (live in LA)
Goo Goo DollsIris
Robbie WilliamsAngels
The KillersMr. Brightside
Bryan AdamsHeaven (Live)
QueenRadio Ga Ga (Wembley Live)
Alabama ShakesAlways Alright
Anne HathawayI Dreamed a Dream
Frank SinatraThe Way You Look Tonight

Top #10 Favourite Actors

Leonardo DiCaprioThe Wolf of Wall Street, Catch Me If You Can, Inception, Blood Diamond +Titanic.
Bradley Cooper– The Hangover Trilogy, Limitless, Silver Linings Playbook, American Hustle + The Elephant Man (Play).
Tom Hanks– Big, Forrest Gump, Toy Story, Saving Private Ryan + Cast Away.
Matt Damon– Good Will Hunting, Ocean’s Eleven, Bourne Trilogy, The Departed + Invictus.
Christian Bale– Batman Trilogy, American Hustle, American Pyscho, The Prestige + Public Enemies.
Colin Firth– The King’s Speech, Bridget Jones’ Diary, Love Actually, Mamma Mia + Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.
Bill Nighy– Love Actually, Harry Potter, Pirates of the Caribbean, The Boat That Rocked + Valkyrie.
Morgan Freeman– Shawshank Redemption, Se7en, Invictus, Batman Trilogy + Bruce Almighty.
Hugh Jackman– Wolverine Origins, Les Miserables, The Prestige, Australia + Oklahoma.
Robin Williams– Aladdin, Hook, Jumanji, Good Will Hunting + Mrs Doubtfire.

my_collage (2)

Top #10 Favourite Actresses

Scarlett Johansson– The Avengers, Iron Man 2, Lost In Translation, The Prestige + The Other Boleyn.
Anne HathawayLes Miserables, The Dark Knight Rises, The Devil Wears Prada, The Princess Diaries + One Day.
Julia Roberts– Pretty Woman, Notting Hill, Ocean’s Eleven, Hook + Valentine’s Day.
Helena Bonham Carter– Harry Potter, The King’s Speech, Alice in Wonderland, Les Miserables + Sweeney Todd.
Rachel McAdams– Mean Girls, The Notebook, Wedding Crashers, Sherlock Holmes + Midnight In Paris.
Kate Winslet– Titanic, Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind, The Holiday, Flushed Away + Contagion.
Keira KnightleyThe Imitation Game, Atonement, Pirates of the Caribbean, Love Actually + King Arthur.
Natalie Portman– Black Swan, Star Wars, Thor, V For Vendetta + The Other Boleyn Girl.
Gwyneth Paltrow– Iron Man, Shakespeare In Love, Sliding Doors, Shallow Hal + Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow.
Amanda Seyfried– Mamma Mia, Les Miserables, In Time, Letters to Juliet + Dear John.

my_collage (3)

Harrison Ford and Emma Watson aren’t my list as they’ve already had special post dedicated to them.

Top #10 Places I Want To Visit

New York, USA– Times Square, Central Park, Empire State Building, Grand Central, The Met, National History Museum, Ground Zero, etc.
Rome, Italy– Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Vatican City, Pantheon, St Peter’s Basilica, etc.
Taj Mahal, Agra, India
Great Wall of China
Niagara Falls, Victoria Falls, Angel Falls, Iguaza Falls
Paris– Opera de Paris Garnier, La Louvre, Eiffel Tower, Palace of Versailles, Notre Dame, etc.
Machu Picchu, Peru
Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Petra, Jordan
Athens, Greece– Acropolis, Parthenon, Mount Lycabettus,  Temples of Hephaestus + Zeus, etc.

Top #10 Places I Want To Visit (Alternative List)

The Hang Son Doong Cave, Quang Binh Province, Vietnam
The Doors To Hell, Derweze, Turkmenistan
Stairway To Heaven, Oahu, Hawaii
Lake Braies, South Tyrol, Italy
Hohenzollern Castle, Germany
The Admont Library, Austria
Chichen Itza, Mexico
Harbin Ice Festival, Heilongjiang, China
Kamchatka Volcano Ice Cave, Kamchatka Peninsula, Russia
The Closed Subterranean Tube Station and Tunnels, London

my_collage (5)

My Top #10 Things

Book– While at secondary school, we had 2 comedy authors come and compile a book with short stories made by some students. My story was inspired by a funny go-karting experience and the character was based on my English teacher.
Brown Suede Shoes– I wear these nearly every day. To university, pub, visiting friends and family, shopping and clubbing. (Anywhere really, as long as it isn’t raining!)
Rubik’s Cube– Still no closer to finishing it! Though I did do 1 side before..
Board Games– They’ve not been played in a while but every time around Christmas we dig them out. Monopoly, Cluedo, Game of the Year and a couple of Harry Potter board games are always gotten out from my drawers under my bed!
Golf Clubs– I don’t play regularly, but I play probably once a month and I love playing. My best score is an 89 on a full course, and a 67 on a Par 3 course, if that means anything to you..
Theatre Programmes– The Crucible and The Elephant Man are obvious highlights, but I have been with family and friends to the Curve and The Little Theatre for local productions.
Miniature Eiffel Tower– On a primary school (Year 6) trip to Paris I bought a miniature Eiffel Tower off a street seller and I still have it and think of my trip there.
Photo Board– Who needs Facebook to see photos of your friends? In my bedroom I have board with tons of photos of my friends on, although the photos need a bit of updating as we all look a bit young and fresh faced.
Armani Exchange Watch– At the time the most expensive thing I ever bought and also the first proper watch I’ve had. I still wear it every day.
Players’ Player Trophy– I’ve won quite a few sporting trophies over the years, even stepping out at Walkers Stadium (Leicester City) after winning the County Cup when I was younger. But the trophy I like the best is the one that was voted for by my fellow team-mates.

My Top #10 Places I Have Been

Eiffel Tower, France– Even though I was young when I went up the Tower, I can still remember the view. I hope to go back one day in the future.
Harry Potter Studios, Watford– I visited here on my 21st Birthday and it was amazing. I would love to go back again as well as visiting the Warner Bros. attractions in America and Japan.
Buckingham Palace, London– Visited 2 years ago, and the place is just magnificent. There is a very helpful audio-guide that explains the various items in the room and events that are held there. When I went, the groundsmen where setting up the football pitch for a charity match the following day which Princes William and Harry played in.
Oxford, England– As part of my University course I stay at Oxford University, Worcester College for a week, and in just a short space of time you fall in love with Oxford. I also watched a production of Odyssey at the Oxford Playhouse which is a few hundred yards away from the University campus. The 2nd photo is of the Sheldonian Theatre which is absolutely beautiful.
Majorca, Spain– Lads holiday to Magaluf. Can’t say much else ;)…my_collage (7)
Llandudno, Wales– Me and the family went for a holiday a few years ago to Llandudno, and we stayed at a little B+B near the beach and we had a lovely and relaxing time there. I would really like to go back again.
Millport, Isle of Cumbrae, Scotland– Some friends of the family live up at Millport which is called Alcoholics Island! There is plenty of whiskey, brandy and there is a beautiful golf course too.
Old Trafford, Manchester– Being a Manchester United fan, Old Trafford is a special place for me. I have seen a few games over the years, as well as seeing some Olympic Football matches there too.
Bradgate Park, Leicestershire– I wanted to put something from where I am from on the list and it was a toss up between Leicester Cathedral, where Richard III is now buried and Bradgate Park. Bradgate Park is lovely place to go for a walk, and it was also home to Lady Jane Grey.
South Downs, East Sussex– My Auntie and Uncle live in East Sussex, and I visited them last year and we spent some time walking in the South Downs and Devil’s Dyke and having a pint in the pub nearby! As you can see from the 4th photo, the view is lovely.

Top #10 Things You Should Check Out

Michal Karcz Prints– I just love the images he has made, his post-apocalyptic ones are amazing.
My paintings– I haven’t done any for a year or two, but I am quite happy with these even though I hadn’t painted anything before.> My Paintings.
My 1st Book ReviewInferno by Dan Brown.
Neil Patrick Harris’ 2013 Tony Awards Opening Number. The BEST opening to an awards show EVER! (NPH Tony Awards
5 Films everyone should watch: Schindler’s List, Gladiator, The Breakfast Club, The Shawshank Redemption + Hotel Rwanda.
5 Books everyone should read: To Kill A Mockingbird, Death of a Salesman, Lord of the Flies, Pygmalion + The BFG.
Will Ferrell’s 2011 Mark Twain Acceptance speech. One of the funniest acceptance speeches I have seen. (Ferrell Mark Twain Award
Every David Attenborough Documentary.
Important thing you should check out is Vinnie Jones’ Hands-only CPR. It could save a life- (CPR Video

And last of all, check out the people that like and comment on my blog! All of them have amazing blogs and they are the reason I have reached 100 blog posts. Thank you for all your contribution big and small to my blog, and here’s to the next 100!!!

P.S. I can confirm that I have been signed up to be in Star Wars VII…Star Wars VII

18 thoughts on “My 100th Post!

  1. Congratulations! (I’m exactly 60 behind you!)

    Great lists (especially the places to visit) – pleased to see there’s only one movie I need to see on your ‘must-see’ list (Hotel Rwanda) but feel I now need to revisit Amber Spyglass (couldn’t get along with it and it’s been half finished for a number of years 😦 )

    P.S Your paintings are stunning – I hope you find time to do more!

    P.P.S If you’ve not been, put Venice on your list too. Rome is amazing but Venice is just magical!

    • Thanks! Don’t worry you’ll soon catch up and wonder how quickly the 100th post has come round. The Dark Materials trilogy has been on my shelf for years, but I decided to read them not really knowing what to expect. I just really got into AS and loved it.
      Thank you 🙂
      Venice is another place I’d love to visit along with Florence. There’s too many great places!! 🙂

      • Florence is definitely on my list but to be fair, I imagine I could easily fall in love with anywhere in Italy based on places I’ve so far been to!

  2. Pingback: 200th Post! (Plus 3 Book GIVEAWAYS!) | The Humpo Show

Leave a Reply

