What is Love?

“The first time I saw her, everything in my head went quiet. All the tics, all the constantly refreshing images disappeared.” 

I thought I would share this love slam-poem which has been on YouTube for nearly 2 years. It is about Hilborn, who has OCD which is the title of the poem, and he perfectly describes the myriad of emotions that accompany being in love with someone.

Two of my favourite lines that stud out in this poem were:

“She loved that I had to kiss her goodbye 16 times, or 24 times if it was a Wednesday.”

“She’d close her eyes and imagine that days and nights were passing in front of her.” 

But none of them had the impact of this heart-breaking line:

 

“I leave the door unlocked. I leave the lights on.”  

Leave a Reply

