Percy Jackson and The Olympians

The Lightning Thief 3.5/5

The Sea of Monsters 4/5

The Titan’s Curse 4/5

The Battle of The Labyrinth 4.5/5

The Last Olympian 4.5/5

The best series I’ve read since Harry Potter.

By the end you’ll be aching with joy, sadness, relief and amazement.

I recently had 2 weeks off work for holiday; I spent the majority of it glued to the Percy Jackson books. This children/teenage set of books was incredibly addictive with a fascinating storyline. Percy Jackson and The Olympians is a set of 5 books: The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters, The Titan’s Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth and The Last Olympian. I can honestly say this set of books is the most enjoyable and readable set of books since I read Harry Potter.

I was a relative latecomer to the Percy Jackson adventure, but I am a fully fledged fan of the series which has carried me on the ‘Heroes of Olympus’ series but we’ll get to that later. When I began reading this series I only knew names of the well known Gods such as; Zeus, Poseidon, Hades and Athena, which put me in the same boat as Percy who also begins by not knowing who all the Gods are and what their power is. Riordan effectively introduces and explains the powers and the hierarchy of the Gods and I begin to have a new found fascination with Greek Mythology with all the exciting tales which Percy embarks on.

Percy Jackson thinks he is a normal schoolboy, but he is a descendant from the Gods from Greek Mythology, and Riordan charts the adventures of Percy, Annabeth, Grover and Tyson through along with their trials and tribulations of fitting into the modern world with the knowledge that they have powers that they inherited from a godly parent.

When I began reading these books, all I knew was that it was about Greek Mythology in modern times, therefore I went into these books a bit blind. But Riordan was a shining light illuminating brilliance through compelling quests for Percy and his friends to go on. The quests, the friendships and the relationships left me with an ineffable ache showing how much I connected to the characters and how much I hoped that they were successful and that everything would work out. This series left me blown away and I must thank Riordan for this roller-coaster ride which put me through the mill of emotions, but I wouldn’t have had it any other way. I would’ve liked to go into greater depth about each book and how thrilling each was to read, and how each story gets better as the characters develop, and that you become attached to them, feeling their feelings and the twists and turns of their stories. But I think the best way to enjoy these books more is to just immerse yourself in the world of Percy Jackson and believe me, it is well worth the ride.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Percy_Jackson_%26_the_Olympians

22 thoughts on “Percy Jackson and The Olympians

  1. Pingback: DIY: Percy Jackson’s Camp Half-blood Necklace | memoirs of an angel

  2. Pingback: Percy Jackson | Booked

  3. Pingback: Demigods Rock part 2 | FanFiction Fridays

  4. Pingback: Demigods Rock!!! | FanFiction Fridays

  5. Pingback: Fantasy Roast #6 | FanFiction Fridays

  6. Pingback: Percy Jackson :: Harry Potter redux? :: EDGE Boston | The Blog That Made No Sense

  7. Pingback: Are the Percy Jackson books as much of a ripoff of Harry Potter as they seem? – Straight Dope Message Board | The Blog That Made No Sense

  8. Pingback: Percy Jackson & Harry Potter: Why They’re Alike,Why They Aren’t, And Why It Really Doesn’t Matter. | Percy Jackson Movies | Percy Jackson Movies | The Blog That Made No Sense

  9. Pingback: Percy Jackson & The Olympians – A Harry Potter Rewrite? | Book Equals | The Blog That Made No Sense

  10. Pingback: Review: The Sea of Monsters | Jennifer Adventures

  11. Pingback: Of Wizards & Demigods: In Which the Kids Battle Against a Thunderstorm | The Fantasy Central Channel

  12. Pingback: Of Wizards & Demigods: In Which They Find Themselves in a Bind | The Fantasy Central Channel

  13. Pingback: Of Wizards & Demigods: In Which the Girls Get Makeovers & the Boys…Not So Much | The Fantasy Central Channel

  14. Pingback: In Which the Demigods Make Their Grand Escape | FanFiction Fridays

  15. Pingback: More book covers for me! | The Jacquel Rassenworth Blog

  16. Pingback: In Which Ron Finds Out the Truth about his Mother | FanFiction Fridays

  17. Pingback: The Demigod Team Part 4 | FanFiction Fridays

  18. Pingback: Just as you thought this only happened in books… | ofglassandbooks

  19. Pingback: First Edition Harry Potter Book For Sale | The Humpo Show

  20. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most Books From | The Humpo Show

Leave a Reply

